Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Strudel and Apple Strudel Tarts

Have I mentioned that apple desserts are one of my favourite treats?

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Strudel and

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Strudel

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Strudel Tart …

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Strudel Tart

are my latest creations!

Imagine sweet, cinnamon apple sauce enveloped in a crisp, light as air flaky pastry.

For the Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Strudel, I adapted a recipe I had clipped from the November 2004 Chatelaine magazine. Click here for the original recipe.

My adaptions for Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Strudel: 

1)  I used 6 local Spy apples from MacMillans.
2)  I omitted the lemon/orange peel, nutmeg and raisins.
3)  I made my own allergy friendly breadcrumbs in the food processor with a piece of Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free French Stick. Scatter the crumbs on a parchment lined baking sheet.  Place the baking sheet in the oven at a low heat to dry out the crumbs (watch carefully).  Let cool.  Return to the food processor to create a finer crumb.
4)  Replaced melted butter with canola oil.

Matthew enjoyed his slice of Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Strudel with some Soyatoo Rice Topping.

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Apple Strudel with Soyatoo Rice Whip Topping

Matthew’s comments:  “The top is so fluffy and light.” “Mmmm…this is really delicious!”    “Even though it is apple?” I questioned. “Even though it is apple.”, he replied with a smile on his face.

For the Dairy, Egg Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Strudel Tarts, I adapted a recipe from a recipe I had clipped from one of my Canadian Living magazines. (not sure of the issue). Click here for the original recipe.

I bought 4 local Spy apples from MacMillans and used local honey from my sister-in-law’s neighbour’s parents farm in Brighton, Ontario.

Local ingredients = yummy results!

My adaptions for the Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Strudel Tarts:

1)  I loved the taste of the apple cider in the first recipe, so I replaced the 1/2 cup of water with pure apple cider.
2)  I omitted the grated lemon rind and sliced toasted almonds.

I think the presentation of the tart version is very appealing!

Enjoying a Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Strudel Tart

Unfortunately, Michael was not very fond of this version. On the other hand, Matthew loved it…as did his friend, William. “It took awhile to get to the middle…I had to get through all the crunchy part.”, William chuckled.

It was quite funny to watch all three of the boys decide how to ‘attack’ the tart…none were sure if they should eat it with a fork or just pick it up with their hands!

Tip 1: I highly recommend saving all the apple peelings…dusted with cinnamon…they are the perfect snack!

Tip 2:  Unfortunately, both the Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Strudel and Tarts do not keep well overnight…make sure to devour them all in one sitting!

Tip 3: If I was baking a dessert for a crowd…I would opt for the Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Strudel. If it is just for the family, Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Strudel Tarts would be perfect.

P.S. With the soggy leftovers, I scraped out the apple sauce filling to enjoy on its own. Yummy!

4 thoughts on “Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Strudel and Apple Strudel Tarts

  1. Awww, you made my bowl of Cheerios so unappealing! That Tart is picture-worthy! How beautiful! I know it was delicious. I wonder if the soggy left over tarts would warm well and taste good with a scoop of soy ice cream?
    Beautiful work! Your boys (all three of them!) are blessed!
    Candace

Shall we discuss?

