Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Cinnamon Muffins

Apple season brings out the baker in me…Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Cinnamon Muffins anyone?

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Cinnamon Muffin

Who doesn’t love the taste of tart apples paired with the sweetness of cinnamon sugar layered on top of a vanilla, apple muffin? I should have guessed that my boys would have varying opinions.

Matthew was the first to try a muffin, “Here mom, you can have the apples on the top.” To which I replied, “But the apple slices with the brown sugar are the best part!” As he proceeded to scrape the brown sugar and cinnamon mixture off the top of the apples he stated, “Yes, I like the sugar part.”  He proceeded to eat the muffin claiming,”It could do with more cinnamon.” Can you believe it! I had actually, doubled the cinnamon in the original recipe.

Michael finally ventured in to the kitchen and tried one himself. His first comment, “There needs to be more apples.” followed by, “Do you have to put cinnamon in them?” Could they be more opposite!

After dinner, it was Andy’s turn…”Delicious”, he announced. “Too much cinnamon? Take out the cinnamon?”, I questioned him. “No, they are perfect just how they are.” 

So I sent out some samples to my loyal taste tester…William loved them!

I decided, to play with the recipe a bit to come up with a Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Cinnamon Muffin that both my boys would enjoy. See tips below for the recipe for the boys’ Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Cinnamon Muffins!

My first batch of muffins was adapted from a recipe from the Canadian Living Magazine website. Click here for the original recipe.

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Cinnamon Muffins

2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
1 cup packed demerrera sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp kosher salt
2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 cup rice beverage
1/3 cup canola oil
2 tbsp water
1 tsp pure vanilla
1 cup unsweetened applesauce

In a large bowl, measure and mix together all the dry ingredients.
In another bowl, measure and mix together all the wet ingredients until just combined.
Spoon batter in to paper lined muffin tin.

Topping

Peel and thinly slice 2 apples. Top batter with 3 slices of apples and sprinkle with a combination of 2 tbsp of demerrera sugar and 1/4 tsp of cinnamon.

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Cinnamon Muffins ready for the oven

Bake at 375 F for 20 -25 minutes or until muffin is fully cooked when inserted with a cake tester…you may need to lift up a piece of apple to check underneath.
Cool on cooling rack in muffin tin for 10 minutes.
Remove muffins from muffin tin and continue to cool on cooling racks.

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Muffins cooling on cooling rack

Enjoy while still warm!

Tips: Next time around, I revamped my adapted recipe…I replaced the demerrara sugar with granulated sugar, added 1 tbsp of honey to the wet ingredients and omitted the cinnamon. I filled half the paper lined muffin cups with batter, topped with 5 apple slices and sprinkled half the cinnamon sugar on top. I then added 1 tsp of cinnamon to the rest of the batter and filled the remaining paper lined muffin cups, topping them with the rest of the cinnamon sugar.

Revised Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Cinnamon Muffins ready for the oven

The problem came with the baking…the muffins with the apple slices on top needed to bake longer than those without. The apple sliced muffins were slightly undercooked at 25 minutes whereas the plain muffins were perfect.

Revised Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Cinnamon Muffins cooling

Both Michael and Matthew seemed pleased with the outcome of their personalized Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Cinnamon Muffins.

Matthew’s Best Ever Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Cinnamon Muffins

Matthew's Best Ever Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Cinnamon Muffin

Matthew’s opinion…”Mmmm…tasty!”  William’s opinion…”Mmmmm…yeah, these are really good. I like these better.” My opinion…The best of the bunch…one apple slice on top would be perfect.”

Michael’s Version of Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Cinnamon Muffins

Michael's version of Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Cinnamon Muffins

Michael’s opinion…”Are these cooked? I think (Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free)Apple Kuchen shoots these muffins out of the water!” …so basically, I should just stick to baking Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Kuchen for Michael. Andy enjoyed them.

P.S.  Overall, if I were to bake these again, I would use Matthew’s revised version with the granulated sugar and honey. I would add the full 2 tsp of cinnamon to the entire batch.  For presentation, I would top each muffin with one slice of apple before sprinkling with the cinnamon sugar.

Do you encounter these types of situations when baking for your family?

8 thoughts on “Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Apple Cinnamon Muffins

  1. LOL! Thanks for the Monday Morning chuckles. Yes! I always have one who likes and one who doesn’t. My daughter doesn’t like cinnamon, my Food Allergy (FA) son does. My daughter hates sweet potatoes and all potatoes, my son loves both. One likes bacon, the other sausage. I cook and they eat or not eat.

    Love your apply tablecloth for background photos! I would agree with lots of cinnamon and a touch of nutmeg :)

    I have a wonderful apple muffin recipe that uses chopped or grated apples inside the muffins, but I never thought of putting slices on top, how scrumptous they look!

    • So glad you found the humour in our matching circumstances…it can be quite the balaning act as you may well imagine! The original recipe calls for chopped apples inside the muffins…apples on top are much easier for Matthew to remove, plus the added bonus of him actually injesting one! The apple cloth is actually a tea towel I picked up at The Superstore…I love using pretty tea towels as centrepieces! Do you adapt a lot of recipes? Love the comments, thanks!

Shall we discuss?

