The Food Allergy Chronicles’ First Anniversary

The Food Allergy Chronicles is happy to announce it’s 1st Anniversary Milestone!

The Food Allergy Chronicle family

I can hardly believe that a year has gone by since my best friend, Michelle and I, first discussed starting a blog of my family’s journey with multiple food allergies, eczema and asthma.

What a journey it has been!

I want to thank all my friends and family for their support, everyone who has signed on as a subscriber and all those that have left comments…it feels great to know I am not alone in this adventure of a lifetime! 

Our journey started off rather bumpy…multiple food allergies, eczema and asthma combined with sleep deprivation, lack of information and lack of support…creating many challenges for our family. Yet, here we are today! We are surviving!

Would you like to know the secret?

HOPE

 A word of wisdom, from my mother, that still rings in my ear today…”This too shall pass.”

The hope that, ‘this too shall pass’ was my mantra. It got me through the many times I faced battling Michael’s eczema…the sleepness nights, his painful cries, the endless bathing and creaming, the infections, the countless visits to various doctors, changing bloody bed sheets, washing bloody bed sheets, and the endless vacuuming and dusting of dust mites.

Hope was there for me when I struggled with all Michael’s multiple food allergies (dairy, egg, beef, fish, seafood, sesame, peanut/tree nuts, mustard and raspberries). The hope that one day he may outgrow them…by the way, we are still hoping!

Until that time, I have dedicated myself to ‘using what I know to solve that which I do not know’ in my cooking and baking…basically, finding substitutions to create tasty meals and treats to satisfy Michael’s growing appetite for food!

Hope is ever lingering…even at my lowest, I would search for that ‘glimmer of hope.’ It might have taken a few days of despair but hope would eventually turn up…‘recharging my batteries’!

My hope with The Food Allergy Chronicles, is to pass on a ‘glimmer of hope’ to families that are struggling with multiple food allergies, eczema and asthma, who feel lost, alone and unsure of the future. I hope our journey inspires other families to embrace all that they have…‘use what you know to help solve that which you don’t know.’

I know, easier said than done…but one needs to start somewhere!

Speaking of hope…our family is currently searching for a ‘glimmer of hope’ as we face yet another challenge.

X-rays have revealed that I have severe degenerative changes in my C5-6 and C6-7 discs causing numbness in my left hand fingers. I have a significant compression at the T11 vertebral segment (50% volume lost)! Apparently, I have older lesser compressions at T9 and T10!

I have since had a bone density test…negative for osteoporosis. I am currently waiting for my results for my total body bone scan and an appointment for an MRI.

In the meantime, I have been rendered useless!

I am not able to carry or lift anything…my movements are limited. Vacuuming, washing the floors, carrying the laundry basket, pushing a grocery cart, carrying grocery bags, opening the dishwasher, bending to empty the dishwasher, filling the kettle with water, carrying pots are all off-limits. Just sitting here and typing this post puts a strain on my neck!

Currently, I am hoping for some answers, pain relief and a positive outlook! In the meantime, I am cherishing the positive outcomes of this unexpected turn of events!

My ‘knights in shining armor’ have come to my rescue! Andy and the boys have really ‘stepped up to the plate’! 

Everyone is becoming more actively involved within the household …with little to no complaints. For example, the boys empty the dishwasher, laundry baskets are brought to and fro, the recycling is taken out to the garage, dishes are put away into the dishwasher…all without a ‘peep’ when I need to remind them. I have also been accompanied to the grocery store where someone pushes the cart for me, retrieves heavy items from the shelves, packs up the groceries, carries them to the house, where they are unloaded and put away. My ‘knights are taking my breath away!’ lol

Michael has also become quite creative in the kitchen! One lunch had him boiling up little potatoes while he sautéed chopped onions and mushrooms. He then added the sliced potatoes to brown alongside the onions and mushrooms. Just at the end, he sprinkled in a little Daiya Cheddar Style Shreds to melt. As he gobbled up his meal, he realized that he could have added the ham he was eating or added some bacon to his concoction…next time!

Needless to say, discovering all my back and neck issues the week before heading up to the rented cottage was a little anticlimactic. Turns out, the week away was the best thing for me!

I hope to post our experience at our rented cottage and the allergy friendly meals we all enjoyed (Michael celebrated his 16th birthday midway through the week)…hopefully by Monday.

Thank you again for a year’s worth of stopping by at The Food Allergy Chronicles!

15 thoughts on “The Food Allergy Chronicles’ First Anniversary

  1. Congratulations on your 1 year anniversary! What an amazing accomplishment. You are a true inspiration! Happy Birthday to Michael! I can’t believe how the kids have all grown……before we know it they won’t be kids anymore. You have done an amazing job! He is an amazing young man. And, my thoughts and prayers are with you and your new struggles. I am around to help anytime and I know “this too shall pass”.

  2. First, congratulations on a year of writing your fabulous blog posts! :)

    Second, you’ve been in my heart & mind the last few weeks, and now I knw why. I’ve been thinking of you & will be praying for your positive outcome with the medical tests! You have a wonderful family full of “Knights” which I know will see you through this as they were raised by a wonderful, loving & doting mother! :)

    I wish I were closer so that I coud repay some of the kindness you’ve shown to me and my girls, Susan.

    Keep the faith & take it easy!! :) ((hugs))

    • Thank you for all your kind words! You have been there right from the beginning…I think you may have been one of my first commenters outside of my immediate circle! I always look forward to your comments! By the way, taking it easy has turned out to be harder than it would seem! lol

  3. Oh my, so sorry to hear about your neck! Medically, I am baffled if it is not osteoporosis–did you do a lot of skydiving in the past, LOL? Just kidding, I know you will get to the bottom of it and your healthy eating will help you heal. Now the boys can practice cooking, perfect! I hope you are getting lots of reading done…the new issue of VegNews awesome by the way; have you read it?

    Congrats on one year! I will be sending prayers and good thoughts due north to you!

    • Thank you! Apparently, degenerative discs run in my family! I am way too afraid of heights to be skydiving! I too am puzzled with my ‘bone dilemma’. Hopefully the bone scan and MRI will give me more answers. The boys have been ‘gems’…I am truly fortunate! A year goes by way toooo fast! Thanks for all your thoughts and prayers, I apprecieate them all! :)

  4. Auguri Susan!!
    I love reading your blog posts and I can’t believe it has been a year already. I hope you feel better soon and get back to doing all the things you want to do. Of course, I hope that your “knights” continue to help out even when you are all better so that you have more time and energy to do more of the things you really love to do.
    Let me know if there is anything I can do to help “make this time pass”, faster and easier, for you.
    xox

    • Thank you! I was worried there for awhile that I might have lost my motivation…needless to say, I am in a better frame of mind and excited to continue what I have started! Thanks for all your support! :)

  5. Pingback: The Food Allergy Chronicles’ 2012 Summer Rented Cottage Holiday | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  6. Congratulations on a year of blogging! Your voice is also so upbeat and gentle as you work your way along. I am sorry for your medical problems, hope there is a resolution that can restore your mobility (you don’t seem like the kind of gal to sit around and let others do for you!). Wonderful that your team of men are able and willing to pick up where you left off. The boys have really grown in a year too! Beautiful shots of your young men :)

    • Thank you Candace! I have thoroughly enjoyed my year as The Food Allergy Chronicles! You are sooo right! It has been very difficult for me to sit back…however, I am learning that it is the only way for my body to heal at this time. I love the phrase, ‘my team of men’! They are my heroes! Time seems to be moving ever so much faster now that they have both reached high school. My window of opportunity for ‘mothering’ and ‘parenting’ is closing. Making the most of the time I have left! Thanks for your comments!

Shall we discuss?

