Dairy, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Summertime Peach Crisp

Peaches are in season!

Bowl full of fresh summer peaches

Sweet and juicy…enjoying them straight from the basket…summertime at it’s best!

One of my favourite peach desserts to make for a family gathering is Dairy, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Peach Crisp.

Adapting my all-time favourite recipe to be dairy, soy and peanut/tree nut free that all family members can enjoy is easy…believe me…no one will miss the butter!

In fact, a butterless crisp makes for a lighter version…one that I have received many compliments!

The recipe I like to adapt is my childhood favourite by Mme Benoit. The recipe comes from a well-worn page from a newspaper article with peach recipes by Mme Benoit.

Dairy, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Summertime Peach Crisp

Dairy, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Summertime Peach Crisp

14 peaches
1/2 cup freshly squeezed orange juice
freshly squeezed juice from 1 lemon
2 cups Demerara Brown Sugar
1 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
2 tsp cinnamon
8 tbsp canola oil

In a very large bowl, place the peaches and pour boiling water to cover. Let sit for 5 minutes. Peel the skin off the peaches, slice into wedges and place in a flan dish.
Pour over lemon and orange juices and stir to cover.
In another large bowl, mix together the flour, sugar, and cinnamon. Add in the canola oil and using your fingers, combine well.

Peaches and crumble all ready to assemble Dairy, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Summertime Peach CrispSprinkle crumble over top of peaches…do not press down…let the crumble sit loosely on top.
Bake at 375 F for 20 minutes or until the top is browned and bubbling.
Let cool on cooling rack.

Dairy, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Summertime Peach Crisp cooling

Enjoy!

Tip: This makes a very large peach crisp…I doubled the recipe…half of the recipe will fit in an 8 inch baking dish.

P.S. This lovely Dairy, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Summertime Peach Crisp was enjoyed after a delicious ‘Allergy Friendly Summertime Dinner’

Perfect Allergy Friendly Summertime Dinner of Barbecued Lemon Chicken, Roasted Cauliflower and Brocolli and Bruschetta Pasta

Barbecued Lemon Chicken, click here for the recipe, roasted cauliflower and broccoli and Bruschetta Pasta. (basically cherry tomatoes, garlic, extra virgin olive oil, salt, pepper and fresh basil tossed with pasta…delicious cold the next day!) Click here for my Bruschetta recipe.

Tip: I Marinated the chicken breasts ahead of time and froze them. I made the bruschetta the morning of the dinner, covered it and left it on the side. Dinner was simply barbecuing the chicken, cooking some pasta and tossing with the bruschetta, (I also had some plain pasta tossed with extra virgin olive oil) then roasting the cauliflower and brocolli…perfect for a crowd of 12…free of all my boys’ food allergens…I can relax and enjoy!

In fact, as Michael was serving himself firstly he commented, “Mom, can I eat everything that is out?” “Yes Michael”, I replied. “I just love these meals”, he answered smiling at me…”Yes, so do I!” So very worth it…in fact, priceless!

P.P.S. This will be my last post for awhile…I am taking a break!  My next adventure with the family will be heading up into the woods to stay at my brother’s cottage with my Scottish relatives. I hope to write about our experience…stay tuned!

Hope you are all enjoying your summertime with friends and family!

3 thoughts on “Dairy, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Summertime Peach Crisp

  1. Yum! Your crisp sounds delicious! I too relish meals where everything is food allergy friendly and can’t imagine what a relief it is for our kids to enjoy everything the same as everyone else.
    Hope you enjoy your time with relatives at the cottage! I know you have traveling with FA down to a science :)

    • Thank you! I really see a sense of relief in Michael when he knows the meal is entirely allergy friendly! I work hard at accomplishing that for him but on the other hand, it is important for both sides (Michael and others) to remain alert to the fact that both Michael and Matthew have food allergies. Keeping them safe is a priority! Time with family is very important! Keeping in touch with our Scottish relatives means a lot to us all…my father has passed but his memory and heritage will last with us forever!

  2. I will try this crisp for sure. My mother always made lots of apple crisp when we were growing up but I have not had peach. What is the brown sugar…a brand or type? Might just be something I don’t know of as a very elementary baker! Enjoy your trip Susan!

Shall we discuss?

