Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chip Zucchini Bundt Cake

I was ecstatic when my husband, Andy, arrived at my mom’s house with a bag full of zucchini from our garden. Oh the possibilities!

Basket of zucchini from our vegetable garden

I have been adding diced zucchini to salads, baked a Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chip Zucchini Bundt Cake and Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Lemon Blueberry Zucchini Muffins (will be posting on Monday)…and still have a basket full of zucchini left!

I have been looking forward to baking an allergy friendly Zucchini Cake for the boys to try…of course, the mere mention of zucchini had them running for the hills…the addition of chocolate chips made the cake a little more kid friendly…just barely!

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chip Zucchini Bundt Cake

The boys were excited to try it…until Matthew spied the ‘bits of green’! “What’s the green stuff?”, he questioned. “Zucchini! Oh yuck!” Despite Matthew’s outward dislike of the cake due to ‘green bits’ the rest of the boys enjoyed the cake.

My husband enjoying a piece of Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chip Zucchini Bundt Cake

My husband declared, “Oh, this is gooood!” Perfect enjoyed with a cup of coffee!

The harmony of chocolate and cinnamon came together beautifully…nice and light…lovely and moist with the addition of the zucchini…I am suitably impressed with the results of my adaptions for Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chip Zucchini Bundt Cake!

If you have a load of zucchini from your garden like I did…I highly recommend giving this recipe a try!

I adapted the recipe for Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chip Zucchini Bundt Cake from Canadian Living. Click here for the original recipe.

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chip Zucchini Bundt Cake

A slice of Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chip Zucchini Bundt Cake

1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1 1/4 tsp cinnamon
3/4 cup brown sugar
2 tbsp water
1/2 cup canola oil
1/2 cup rice beverage mixed with 1/2 tbsp white vinegar left to sit for 5 minutes
2 tsp pure vanilla
1 1/2 cups grated zucchini
1 cup Enjoy Life chocolate chips

In a large mixing bowl, stir together the flours, baking powder, soda, salt, cinnamon, grated zucchini and chocolate chips.
In a separate bowl, mix together the brown sugar, oil, rice mixture, vanilla and water.
Add the wet to the dry and stir until just combined.
Pour into a bundt pan sprayed with canola oil,
Bake at 350 F for 45 minutes or until a tester comes out clean.
Let sit for 10 minutes before removing to cool on a cooling rack.
Dust with icing sugar to decorate.

Enjoying a slice of Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chip Zucchini Bundt Cake

Enjoy!

Tip: Substituting raisins for the chocolate chips would be a yummy addition!

What allergy friendly dishes do you like to create with garden fresh zucchini?

5 thoughts on “Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chip Zucchini Bundt Cake

  1. Pingback: Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Lemon Blueberry Zucchini Muffins | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  2. I have my grandma’s beautiful old bundt pan and will definitely enjoy making this! As an added bonus, I noticed today my local grocery just started carrying Enjoy Life chocolate chips! Your boys are so lucky to have a fab baker like you for a mom!!

    • Thank you for your kind words! How wonderful to have a keepsake like your grandmother’s bundt pan! I have a few pieces of my grandmother’s bakeware too! It is so convenient to be able to buy Enjoy Life Chocolate Chips at the local grocery store…enjoy!

  3. Oh Susan! This is going on my “to make” list as soon as I get zuchinni from my grandma!! It looks SOO good! I’m pretty sure with you baking for me I wouldn’t have issues keeping my weight up!!! hahaha!!!

    • I am so glad you will be giving this recipe a try! If only we lived closer…you could be my gluten free ‘guinea pig’ for all my baking experiments! lol

Shall we discuss?

