Michael’s Guacamole

At the beginning of the summer, my eldest son, Michael, had requested to try some new dips.

With his multiple food allergies…dairy, egg, beef, sesame, fish, shellfish, peanut/tree nuts, mustard and raspberries…Homemade Guacamole seemed to fit the bill!

My son enjoying his Guacamole with tortilla chips and salsa

Simple healthy ingredients…Guacamole was the perfect ‘summer time dip’ to throw together for a tasty afternoon snack for my growing teenager!

Avocadoes are full of omega-3 fatty acids, Vitamin C, E and carotenoids…making them a powerhouse of ‘goodness’ I am pleased to see my son enjoy.

Using ‘The Barefoot Contessa’s Cookbook’ recipe for Guacamole as a guideline, I quickly put together a personal serving of Guacamole.

Michael’s Guacamole

1/2 a ripe avocado, diced
1 tsp freshly squeezed lemon juice
1/8 tsp minced garlic
1 tsp of finely chopped red onion
1 small ripe tomato, diced
sprinkle of salt and pepper to taste

Combine all ingredients in a small bowl. Mash the avocado while mixing all the ingredients. Served along side tortilla chips and salsa.

Chunky version of Michael's Guacamole

Enjoy!

Tip: I dipped a few carrots in for a change…yummy!

P.S. Frankly, I enjoyed the Guacamole to be left chunky…Michael insisted the avocado be mashed.  One of the pictures is the chunky version and the other is the mashed. Either way…delicious!

P.P.S. I would love to try adding chopped fresh coriander or ‘heat it up’ with a little tabasco sauce!

How do you like your Guacamole?

3 thoughts on “Michael’s Guacamole

  1. I got this delicious recipe from my sister-in-law…no amounts given, just have to experiment…but I love it every time! Very similar to yours! Avocado–left fairly chunky, chopped red onion, lime juice vs lemon, chopped tomato, garlic, fresh cilantro, salt and pepper to taste. Sometimes I just shortcut and eat a mashed avocado with lime squeezed on and a few cilantro leaves. Let me know what you think if you try it:) My boys won’t try avocados yet…

  2. Pingback: Barbecued Chicken Fajitas | The Food Allergy Chronicles

Shall we discuss?

