Dairy and Mustard Free Herbed ‘Buttermilk’ Barbecued Chicken

Well, I am back to barbecuing…thought I would try out another childhood favourite of mine…Herb and Buttermilk Barbecued Chicken from Canadian Living’s Best Barbecue Cookbook.

Dairy and Mustard Free Herbed 'Buttermilk' Barbecued Chicken

As the title states, the main ingredient in this marinade is Buttermilk. Dijon mustard is also on the ingredient list…with my eldest son’s dairy and mustard allergy, an adaption was necessary!

I substituted the buttermilk with a mixture of 3/4 cup of soy milk (could use rice milk)mixed with almost a tablespoon of white vinegar…letting it sit for at least 5 minutes. For the Dijon, I just omitted it. I also tried to substitue fresh herbs for the dried…I would have preferred to substitute all dried herbs for fresh but I just used what we had growing in my mom’s pots…fresh oregano and thyme.

The boys were none the wiser! The chicken was super moist and delicious…just how I remembered it to be!

Enjoying my Dairy and Mustard Free 'Buttermilk' Barbecued Chicken

Dairy and Mustard Free Herbed ‘Buttermilk’ Barbecued Chicken

2 lbs boneless, skinless chicken breasts
3/4 cup soy milk mixed with almost a tablespoon of white vinegar, let sit for at least 5 minutes
2 tbsp canola oil
2 cloves garlic minced
2 tsp dried rosemary and basil
4 tsp of fresh thyme and oregano finely chopped
1/4 tsp of kosher salt and ground pepper

In a bowl, mix together all the ingredients.
Place the chicken in a sealable container…I used a large freezer bag.
Pour over the marinade and let sit for at least 4 hours or up to 24 hours.
Let stand at room temperature for 30 minutes.
Reserving marinade, barbecue chicken breasts  on medium heat at 5 minute intervals, brushing with the marinade after each 5 minute turn.
Depending on the size of the chicken breasts, they will take from 20-30 minutes.

Tip1:  If, like us, you find that you have run out of propane for your barbecue…not to worry! Broiling the chicken works just as well! I placed the chicken on a broiler pan, and turned the chicken every 5 minutes for a total of 20 minutes. I did not feel I needed to baste between turns. The chicken turned out perfectly!

Dairy and Mustard Free 'Buttermilk' Barbecued Chicken cooked under the broiler

Tip 2: I often cook a few more chicken breasts…I save them for Michael to enjoy when I am cooking a meal that includes one his food allergens such as the fish supper I planned for the next day.

P.S. I think the next time I make this, I will try replacing the white vinegar with lemon juice. Both my mom and I felt a little hint of lemon would have been a nice addition in the marinade. A little extra virgin olive oil and lemon drizzled over the brocolli would also have been a tasty compliment!

7 thoughts on “Dairy and Mustard Free Herbed ‘Buttermilk’ Barbecued Chicken

    • That sounds delish! Have you tried quinoa? I am finding I prefer it to rice. My husband and eldest son are not yet converted but they like to add a bit to their rice…baby steps! :)

      • I’ve tried quinoa, but it really bothered my stomach. I actually love quinoa flakes though, which don’t bother my stomach. Weird.

      • What a shame! Possibly the process to which the quinoa went through to become quinoa flakes changed it’s composition to make it more tolerable for you. How do you enjoy your quinoa flakes?

      • I love making quinoa porridge in the morning with rice milk and/or stevia. I also like to make microwave protein breads. It’s a great substitute for oatmeal!

      • Sounds perfect for these cooler fall mornings! I have heard quinoa flakes substitute well for oatmeal…great for those avoiding gluten.

  1. Pingback: The Food Allergy Chronicles Visits Purdy’s Fish Market | The Food Allergy Chronicles

Shall we discuss?

