Farmer’s Market Allergy Friendly Gazpacho

On these hot and humid days, all I can think about is how to stay cool! Summer barbecues are wonderful…but I am feeling like something a little more refreshing!

Allergy Friendly Gazpacho!

Allergy Friendly Gazpacho

Free of all my boys allergens, filled with veggie goodness and the taste of summer!

A trip to the Farmer’s Market, my mother and I picked up all the fresh produce we would need…tomatoes, peppers and cucumbers!

Vegetables at the Farmer's Market

So many to choose from!

The recipe comes from Canadian Living’s Best Light Cooking. Click here for the recipe. This recipe is my mother’s go-to recipe for Gazpacho.

Mom and I collaborated on the making of the soup…she worked on the peeling and chopping of the tomatoes and I diced and pureed them with the peppers and cucumber. The Gazpacho was tucked away in the fridge overnight…always tasted better the next day!

Michael was keen to give the Gazpacho a try…”Oh, that is soooo good!”

He helped slice, brush olive oil and toast in the toaster oven, his french stick for the crostini to accompany the Gazpacho.

Topped with the extra yellow pepper and cucumber…I garnished the soup with fresh parsley and chives from the garden.

Allergy Friendly Gazpacho with a slice of Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Crostini

Crostini is like one big crouton!

I added white kidney beans and leftover quinoa to my Gazpacho!

I love the combination of the creamy texture of the kidney beans, with the grainy texture of the quinoa and the crunch of the peppers and cucumber…yummy!

Allergy Friendly Gazpacho with quinoa and white kidney beans

My mom and I both agree…the perfect supper for a hot humid summer night!

Tip: The creaminess of the kidney beans reminded me of the leftover avocado in the fridge…my mom and I shared it between us in our second bowl!

P.S. Tonight Mom and I will enjoy the leftover Gazpacho with some roasted cold shrimp on the side!

Update: Adding the shrimp was the perfect touch!

Allergy Friendly Gazpacho with Quinoa, Avacado, Kidney Beans and Shrimp

My mom and I had more shrimp than the one on top…we chopped up about 9 shrimp each and added it to the Gazpacho…soooo goood!

4 thoughts on “Farmer’s Market Allergy Friendly Gazpacho

Shall we discuss?

