Chicken Souvlaki with a Dairy Free Dill Dip Paired With Dairy Free Potato Pockets

Chicken Souvlaki with Dairy Free Dill Dip and Dairy Free Potato Pockets hits the spot for a summer barbecue!

Chicken Souvlaki and Dairy Free Dill Dip

Easily doubled, made a day ahead or frozen for an easy go-to meal when entertaining family and friends this summer!

This summer, Michael has requested that he would like to try more allergy friendly dips. My husband, Andy and I, always enjoy a Tzatziki Dip paired with our Chicken/Pork Souvlaki. As Michael is allergic to all dairy products…hence, my quest to recreate a tasty Dairy Free version for us all to enjoy!

First try…too much garlic! Frankly, my mother, Andy and I loved it but for Michael’s younger taste buds…it was just too much! “I like it…but it tastes hot!”, Michael explained.

Visiting my mother with a my boys and two nephews in tow…I decided to give the Dairy Free Dill Dip another try…bingo! Even our guest for the evening was pleasantly surprised that the accompanying Dill Dip was dairy free!

Another family favourite…will be perfect this summer when the relative quotient increases with the ‘Scottish Invasion’, possible ‘American Invasion’ and my brother and sister-in-law arrive!

I find it so encouraging when a recipe turns out just how I want it to…especially when it means that Michael, who has, over the years, watched us enjoy unallergy friendly foods, finally experiences an allergy friendly version. An added bonus when I can pass my creations past those without food allergies!

It truly makes my day…it drives me to continue to adapt recipes to further my boys positive experience with food!

Dairy Free Potato Pockets have been a favourite of mine since my childhood…now a favourite of my boys and nephews.

Again, easy to double or triple and make up ahead of time for a family of 4 or a crowd! Creating a few different packets with varying spices to suit the tastes of your family and friends. A sure winner for a summer barbecue!

The recipe for Chicken Souvlaki comes from Canadian Living Magazine, March 2002 edition. I switched out the pork for boneless chicken breasts. Click here for the recipe.

Dairy Free Dill Dip

Dairy Free Dill Dip1 cup of Tofutti Sour Supreme
1 garlic clove, minced
1 tsp freshly squeezed lemon juice
1 tsp olive oil
1/8 tsp kosher salt
cracked pepper to taste
lots of fresh dill, washed, dried and cut with herb scissors

In a small bowl add all the ingredients and stir to combine.
Cover and place in the fridge for all the flavours to meld together.
Best made the day before.

Tip: Lovely served with baked fish or as a dip for chips!

Dairy Free Potato Packets

Potatoe Packets on the barbecue

olive oil
5 potatoes per packet
a large Vidalia onion divided between 2 packets
salt and pepper to taste
dried italian seasonings to taste

On a large piece of foil, drizzle a tbsp of olive oil. Chop potatoes and onions and layer on the oil covered foil, drizzle more olive oil, season with salt and pepper and toss to coat. Season second package with Italian seasonings.
Roll up the foil and seal all edges.
Place on the barbecue, seal down, for 15 minutes, turn over and cook another 15 minutes.
Potatoes are done when they are fork tender and the potatoes next to the foil are nice and crispy! My favourite part!

Enjoy!

Tip: Fresh herbs from the garden make for a nice addition for a potato packet. Keep any leftovers…great reheated the next day!

Quinoa makes another tasty side dish!

Chicken Souvlaki with Brocolli, Quinoa and Dairy Free Dill Dip

Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Chicken Souvlaki with a Dairy Free Dill Dip Paired With Dairy Free Potato Pockets

  1. Hi Love the look of this dish! Could you please tell me if you also have a peanut allergy? I am just asking because I would love to buy this product for my son but I have heard of peanut contamination with some of the Tofutti products. Look forward to hearing from you…best wishes Charmaine

    • Both my boys have a peanut/tree nut allergy…I think the best option is to call Tofutti themselves and ask about their facility cleaning process. I checked out their FAQ’s site and if one has any questions, they advise one to call the company. I think I just might do that. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I may need to find another option for a dairy free ‘sour cream’ alternative.

  2. Pingback: Summer Family Gathering and Multiple Food Allergies | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  3. Pingback: Dairy, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Summertime Peach Crisp | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  4. Pingback: The Food Allergy Chronicles’ 2012 Summer Rented Cottage Holiday | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  5. Pingback: Bruschetta Pasta | The Food Allergy Chronicles

Shall we discuss?

