Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Grade 8 Graduation Cupcakes!

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Vanilla and Chocolate Graduation CupcakesLast night, my youngest son, Matthew, officially graduated from Grade 8!

Matthew graduating Grade 8 with Honours, 2012

Yes, a few tears were shed…I was a very proud mama…he graduated with Honours!

Celebrations started earlier in the day…a Peanut/Tree Nut Free Pizza Party for the graduating class along with the entire staff! (Pizza was ordered from Pizza Nova. Click here for their allergen information site.)

A couple of Matthew’s former teachers, which have left the school, attended last night’s Grade 8 Graduation ceremony…so nice of them to return and celebrate with their former students.

Apparently, when Michael graduated 2 years ago , his graduating class was the first in the history of graduating classes to have so many former teachers return for their Graduation! It was so nice to see the tradition continue this year too!

Both my boys have been extremely fortunate…both classes were bully free!  A very important factor considering the high risk factor associated with food allergies. Click here for a great article written by Laurie Harada at Allergic Living Magazine, titled, ‘If Your Child Is Bullied.’ Laurie offers some great advice.

I offered to bake allergen friendly cupcakes for the party…

Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate and Vanilla Cupcakes!

An arrangement of Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Vanilla and Chocolate Graduation Cupcakes

It makes me so happy to see the students faces light up at the site of my cupcakes. A grade 7 student spied me leaving the school carrying my empty cupcake containers, “Are those your famous cupcakes?”, he queried.

All through the years, students have been enjoying my baking…unaware that dairy, egg, soy and peanuts or tree nuts are not on the ingredient list.

Proving…allergen friendly baking is kid friendly and delish!

One of Matthew’s classmates ‘fancy’ way of eating cupcakes!

A new way to enjoy a Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Cupcake!

Check out those gorgeous nails for her Grade 8 Grad!

At the party, I had the opportunity to chat with Matthew’s Grade 8 teacher…we discussed the journey that each of us has travelled while learning and adapting to living in a world with food allergies.

A journey better travelled in pairs…school and family working together to formulate a ‘safe environment’ for each and every student despite their ‘disability’. A journey full of communication, compromises and cooperation…a team approach.

Education is key…being in a school setting, one would think that should not be so difficult…yet for some it is! Why is that?

Food Allergy Mama recently moved to a new city.  Her journey with her son’s food allergies, dairy and nuts, begins again. Click here to read her frustrating story of having to start from ‘scratch’ with a new school system that ‘just does not get it’. My heart goes out to her and to the many families struggling to keep their children ‘safe’ at school.

Another 48 Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Vanilla and Chocolate Cupcakes were left for the evening dance…subs were ordered from Mr. Sub…which were peanut/tree nut free. At the end of the evening, the leftover cupcakes were put away for the Grade 7 students, who helped out at the ceremony, to enjoy today.

I thank goodness for Sabrina’s Lawit has ‘opened the eyes and hearts’ of many…paving a path for all children with food allergies.

May Sabrina’s spirit live on as her story continues to spread…educating and ‘warming hearts’ across the country and around the world! If you are unfamiliar with Sabrina’s Story, click here to read an article written by Gwen Smith from Allergic Living Magazine.

My boys’ journey in grade school is now officially over, leaving me to focus more of my attention on the high school years.

I will continue to meet with and discuss my boys’ food allergies with highschool staff…educating all those who come in contact with my boys the importance of food allergy awareness.

Our trailblazing journey is not over yet!

Matthew’s graduating class of 2012 is a class full of hope and promise for the future! I wish them all well on their new journey!

I leave you with a quote for graduation that Matthew chose for it’s inspirational nature.

Matthew's inspirational quote for his Grade 8 Graduation, 2012

“It is impossible to live without failing at something unless you live so cautiously that you might as well not have lived at all-”   J.K. Rowling, novelist.

10 thoughts on “Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Grade 8 Graduation Cupcakes!

  1. Congratulations to Matthew! What a great school St T’s is. I miss it and all the teachers. I’m sure they will miss your support and your great family. The cupcakes look great! I love the flags.

    • Thank you! It’s such an odd feeling knowing that chapter of our lives is over. Yes, I loved the added touch of the flags…makes the cupcakes so much more celebatory!

  2. Yay f or him! What a great milestone! It’s so cool that you have a reputation with his friends as a great baker. They really discourage homemade treats around here. They want the food to have labels for the kids with food allergies and diabetes. It’s a little discouraging, but on the other hand I get it and appreciate too. I am totally nervous when a home baker makes something for him and insists it’s safe. We’ve had too many or “I didn’t think butter would be a problem.”

    • I feel the same way…my boys do not eat anything homebaked or store bought (unless they read the ingredient list and allergy warning). It is our golden rule! As my boys are the only ones in their classrooms with the food allergies, and homemade treats are not discouraged at their school, I would rather be the one doing all the baking.

    • Thank you! For the one egg in the Vanilla Cupcake recipe, I added 1/2 tsp of baking soda and 2 tbsp water. The Chocolate Cupcakes recipe has always been egg free…it is a recipe from my childhood! If a recipe calls for two eggs, depending on the baked good, I may or may not replace the second egg. If the recipe has fruit puree in it, I just increase the fruit by a 1/4 cup. Otherwise, I may use a flax egg…1 tbsp of flax meal mixed with 3 tbsp of water and then refrigerate for 15 minutes for it to ‘gel’.

      • I had not heard of the 1/2 tsp baking soda/2 tbsp water combo. I will write that one down for sure! I have used the flax “egg” with good results but sometimes you don’t want the “grainy” look. So with the 2 eggs…you sometimes just replace one and it seems to be enough? I appreciate tips from the “expert”… you!! :)

      • My go-to egg is the 1/2 tsp baking soda and water combo…it works like a charm in pancakes, cookies, muffins and cakes. Through trial and error, sometimes the one egg replacement is enough for a 2 egg cake recipe…increase any fruit for the second egg if the cake needs two eggs. A three egg recipe…I definitely replace with two egg replacements. If you follow my recipes…you will be fine as they have all been tested. Expert? Thanks!

Shall we discuss?

