Dairy, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp

Nothing like fresh rhubarb picked from the garden!

Rhubarb freshly picked

I knew exactly how I wanted to complement my freshly picked rhubarb…fresh strawberries, oats, cinnamon…oh my!

Et voila…

Dairy, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp!

Dairy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp with Vanilla Natur-a Frozen Dessert

Topped with Michael’s favourite topping…Natur-a Glace Vanilla Dairy Free Frozen Dessert…divine! (omit Frozen Dessert for a Soy Free version)

I decided to adapt Foodland Ontario’s recipe.  I replaced the granulated sugar for cane sugar, I used a combination of a 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour and a 1/2 cup unbleached all-purpose flour, I used Demerara Sugar for the brown sugar, I replaced the butter with canola oil and increased the cinnamon to 1 tsp in the crumble…my favourite part, I love cinnamon!

Michael loved it…so did Andy and I…Matthew loved the sauce and the crisp but was not so keen on the cooked fruit…”I don’t like the texture”, he explained, as he skirted around the fruit and ate everything else. So as not to waste…I gobbled up his untouched fruit!

Frankly, I could have eaten the entire dish…it was very tempting.

Half of the Dairy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp left

I did go back for seconds…Fruit Crisps are a favourite of mine!

Leftover Dairy, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Strawberry Rhubarb reheated in the microwave for dessert the next night…

Reheated Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp

…heavenly! The crumble is not as crisp…but dare I say…even tastier!

On another note…our friend who grew and shared the rhubarb with me was keen to show my mom and I a very special tree in his garden….a Tulip Tree (Liriodendron tulipefera).

Flowers on a Tulip Tree

Have you ever heard or seen anything like this? I was in awe! Truly magnificent!

Tip:  Both Andy and I thought I could have increased the cinnamon in the filling to 1 tsp like I did for the crumble…Michael loved it just the way it was.

P.S. Nobody noticed the whole wheat flour in the topping! Hee Hee!

4 thoughts on “Dairy, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp

Shall we discuss?

