My ‘Meet and Greet’ With Carla @ My 1/2 Dozen Daily

Surprise!

Surprise Gluten, Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Cupcakes

Enroute to my mom’s I had my very first ‘Meet and Greet’ with a fellow blogger…Carla @ My 1/2 Dozen Daily.

Carla and I

I had commissioned Carla to sew two ‘Whimsical Wallets’ for my friends, Michelle and Anne. It made perfect sense to stop along the way to my mom’s to pick them up…and meet a fellow blogger!

Carla's Whimsical Wallets for my friends

Carla’s sewing ability amazes me! These are so beautiful! I was able to custom design with colour and pattern. Perfect to carry a camera, money and lipstick essentials.

Carla inspires me! Not only is she an expert at her finances, which I am not, she sews faboulous creations, is a photographer and home schools her 4 children! Carla also has many food intolerances, sensitivities and allergies.

Carla’s high list of foods that she must avert was a challenge I just could not refuse!

The hunt was on for a gluten-free all-purpose flour free of corn, dairy, soy, peanuts/tree nuts, and because Michael would be one of my ‘guinea pigs’ it also had to be egg free.

Let me tell you this was not an easy feat. At first I tried to come up with an all-purpose gluten-free flour made from scratch…but I could not find rice/brown rice flour or any gluten -free flour that was not produced in a facility without peanuts/tree nuts. (If you know of a company, please let me know)

How do you deal with cross-dontamination issues when purchasing gluten-free flour blends?

So instead I took Carla’s lead…she loves the company Namaste. The products at this company are made in a dedicated facility free of Gluten, Wheat, Soy, Corn, Potato, Peanuts/Tree Nuts, Dairy and Casein. Products include boxes of cake/muffin/flour mixes.

I decided to try Namste’s Perfect Flour Blendthe results were outstanding!

Namaste Perfect Flour Blend

I was able to create a Gluten, Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Cupcake  With Chocolate Ganache Icing to rave reviews from my ‘guinea pigs’!

I was excited to present Carla with her ‘special’ cupcake in a ‘special’ cupcake container for family gatherings.

Gluten, Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Cupcake in a special cupcake container

I believe everyone…even mom’s….deserve to feel ‘special’!

Carla is like so many moms…so busy ‘thinking of others’ that she forgets to think about herself.

It was a treat to be able to ‘highlight’ all that she does for her family and friends.

I could have chatted with Carla for hours…we had so much in common…love of fabric, I got a peek at her fabric stash, we both love our breadmakers and are striving to live a healthy lifestyle whilst meeting the challenges that food intolerances, sensitivites and allergies pose in our lives.

I suprised her daughters with some special treats that my boys love.

Carla's girls with their treats

Dairy, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Rice Krispie Squares, Dairy, Egg, and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Chip Cookies with and without Marshmallows, Yummy Earth lollipops (apparantly a favourite of theirs already) and as it was her youngest daughter’s birthday the following day, I presented her with the Easter Bag I created for a 5 year-old girl for my Easter post.

The skipping rope was a big hit…as was the Dora book…she happens to love Dora and was wearing a Dora shirt on my visit!

Carla had a surprise herself for me…

My new tote bag by Carla

a gorgeous tote bag!

Made with the beautiful fabric I had gushed over that she used on the ‘Whimsical Wallet’ she made for Anne.

I left Carla with some vintage material I have been holding on to…I cannot say too much because the recipients of the final product read my blog…so it is all ‘hush hush’ for now! I will reveal at a later date.

I thank Carla for welcoming me in her home and look forward to our future friendship. It is truly wonderful to meet someone who ‘gets it’!

I am now at my mom’s enjoying our ‘girl time’. I look forward to my next visit as I may just have to stop by Carla’s again with another ‘sweet treat’ for her and her family!

The challenge is on!

P.S. Have you ever met with a fellow blogger that inspires you?

P.P.S. I will be posting the recipe for my Gluten, Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Cupcakes with Chocolate Ganache Icing on Monday

6 thoughts on “My ‘Meet and Greet’ With Carla @ My 1/2 Dozen Daily

  1. How fun! She makes beautiful things :) I’m going to check out Namaste when Maya is able to eat more foods as I have a feeling we’ll be avoiding many of the same things. Thanks for the recommendation. Your cupcake looks and sounds delicious :) I love the container you packaged it in!

    • Hi Lindsey! I must admit…going gluten-free was intimidating…but I was very impressed with my results! Looking forward to adapting more recipes to be gluten-free. I purchased the colourful box from Michael’s. Carla has quite the natural talent when it comes to sewing!

  2. It was soo much fun meeting you & spending the afternoon chatting & hanging out! Your cupcakes turned out awesome, and I’m almost embarrassed to tell you that I’ve already eaten every. single. cupcake. And I didn’t share… *blush* lol!!

    Enjoy your time with your mom! :) Safe travels home!!

    • Hi Carla! Likewise! I look forward to our next get-together! Knowing how much you enjoyed the cupcakes…well, that just made my day! P.S. My mom and I have managed to declutter one of her closets…you are rubbing off on me! :)

  3. Pingback: Gluten, Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolate Cupcakes With Chocolate Ganache Icing | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  4. Pingback: Gluten, Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Mini Banana Bundt Cakes And Muffins | The Food Allergy Chronicles

Shall we discuss?

