Celebrating Easter With An Egg Allergy

My eldest son, Michael has multiple food allergies…one of which is to eggs.

ceramic eggs by EggNots in a ceramic egg carton

I have mastered baking without eggs but how does one get through Easter without eggs?.

Chocolate eggs, marshmallow eggs, creme eggs, caramel eggs, peanut butter eggs, mini eggs…grocery stores are overflowing with ‘eggable treats’ for Easter!

Many of these ‘eggable treats’ for Easter may not contain eggs…but they often contain other allergens such as dairy and peanut/tree nuts…thus scratching them off the list for our family.

Thankfully, Allergic Living Magazine has put together a list of ‘Best Safe Candy, Bunnies for Easter 2012.’

I am anxiously awaiting the arrival of my Guardian Angel order of Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Mini Chocolate Eggs and a box of Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Chocolates Tasting Box…salt flower caramel, chocolate ganache, honey and caramel, maple butter and coffee. Yummy! Do you think they might share them?

The boys will be so surprised!

Easter Egg ‘treats’ are covered…but what about colouring and decorating eggs?

This has been a stumbling block for me for years. In years past, we substituted colouring eggs with decorating plastic eggs with stickers.

On one of my Dollar Store rounds, I found this cool kit to decorate ‘eggs’ with cardboard cut out stands and foam stickers to stick on cute animal heads, arms and legs.

cardboard cut out decorations on a plastic egg

A little finicky for young children…but with a little help… a great decoration or centre piece!

Now, imagine trumpets tooting!!

Wait till you hear what I discovered on my Allergic Living Newsletter…words cannot describe how ecstatic I was upon reading about the company EggNots!

EggNots was created for all those children with egg allergies that have never been able to touch let alone dye an Easter Egg. EggNots are dyeable ceramic eggs with the look and feel of real eggs.

I kid you not…I quickly ordered myself a dozen ceramic eggs!

They arrived in a typical cardboard egg box. (They were packed in another box for delivery)

carton of ceramic eggs from EggNots

Oh my gosh…they are a thing of beauty!

opened carton of ceramic eggs from EggNots

Tears welled in my eyes as Michael, with the egg allergy, held his ‘first egg’!

“Really….this is what they feel like?” he exclaimed with the biggest grin ever on his face. He looked over at his brother to confirm…”Yup!”, his brother nodded. “Except the real ones usually are colder cause they’re in the fridge.”…“Cool!”

Worth ever penny I spent…and we haven’t even coloured them!

I then discovered our friend up the street, with an egg allergy to raw eggs, had never dyed an Easter Egg herself! So she joined in on the egg decorating party…the more the merrier!

I had some Club House food colouring leftover from years ago but decided there would not be enough so I purchased Club House’s Neon food colours.

Following the instructions on the EggNots packaging…we mixed up the 1 tsp of vinegar and food colouring with 1/2 cup boiling water, dunked in our eggs and waited.

EggNots ceramic eggs being dyed

Beautiful!

EggNots ceramic eggs dyed beautiful colours

The old food colourings (yellow and green to right) paled in comparison to the Neon colours. Luckily our friend, Victoria, chose purple (her favourite colour)…she was very happy with the results! Even happier that she could take it home!

Colouring ‘eggs’ is fun at any age…there were lots of laugh, great banter…memories made!

When I questioned Michael about the experience, he gave me a typical 15 going on 16 answer…“Ya, it changed my life forever!”

You watch…they will be asking to do it again next year!

Note: Not sure what the perfect way to dry coloured eggs is…when they finished drying the top half seemed darker than the bottom.  Any tips?

Update 1: I redyed the EggNots with blue, green and pink…it seemed to help them keep their colour better.

EggNots redyed with the Neon food colouring in blue, green and pink.

Update 2: I was so pleased to witness my friend’s two-year old son, with an egg allergy, hold his first ‘egg’! (It’s an EggNot)

My friend's two-year old son, who is allergic to eggs, holding his first 'egg'.

Update 3: I redyed Victoria’s EggNot purple, dressed it up with some purple thread and popped it into a hen egg cup for her to take home.

Victoria's EggNot redyed in a hen eggcup

P.S. Does your child have an egg allergy? What ideas have you come up with at Easter? Please share!

P.P.S. Did you think the first picture of the ‘eggs’ at the top of the post were real?They’re EggNots.

7 thoughts on “Celebrating Easter With An Egg Allergy

  1. She really enjoyed that experience. Thank you so much for yet another memory made at your hands. Raw egg allergy aside – the darling girl (and her brother) were not born to a crafty mother!
    The idea of pin-pricking the eggshell and gently blowing the raw egg out of the shell, and possibly making a huge mess to clean up!! Sure we can say it was the raw egg allergy??!!!
    Those ceramic ones are the way to go! Nicely done.

    • I remember, as a child, we would boil the eggs first, then colour them…we would eat them for breakfast Easter morning. Gently blowing out the raw egg does not really appeal to me either! I am so glad Victoria was able to join us…her brother was invited too…but he declined…bet he is regretting it now! lol

  2. That’s awesome! Before Max outgrew his egg allergy, he wore plastic gloves to dye eggs. I never noticed a problem, but he was always bummed he couldn’t eat them. His art teacher had him do the same thing in art class when they painted with tempera mixed with eggs. I still struggle with public egg hunts. We’re going to try the one at church, and I’m going to bring candy to exchange for all the milky candy a la Halloween, but he’s 9. I’m about ready for him to be too old for both egg hunts and trick or treating. How’s that for a little bah-humbug on Easter? LOL! Can’t believe I’m a little jealous of your teen. ;-)

    • Hi Jennifer! Good for you to be out participating in an egg hunt…we never ventured that far. Great idea to bring your own treats to exchange. I always try to encourage that the fun is in the ‘doing’ rather than the ‘food’ as we can always substitute for that which they cannot have. I think Michael thought he would be too old for dying eggs…but the thrill of being able to touch an ‘egg’ and the anticipation of waiting for the egg to colour and all the silly antics that went on…we all had a surprisingly good time! Happy Easter! Thanks for sharing!

  3. My 21 has an egg allergy and it has gotten worse and worse, we can no longer even cook eggs in the house and she keeps an epi pen with her at all times. This year we were talking about how she would never be able to color eggs with her future kids. Now she will!

    • Allergy awareness is growing…it is a slow progress but it does give me hope for my boys safety and well being in the future…now, more than ever before. Hats off to innovative thinkers like EggNots!

  4. Pingback: Natural Dyes For Our Eggless Easter With ‘Eggnots’ | The Food Allergy Chronicles

Shall we discuss?

