March Challenge: My Food Allergy Life Has An Extra Bowl Of ‘Challenges’

Life is full of challenges…and then a life threatening diagnosis comes along.

Living with multiple food allergies, eczema and asthma issues creates an extra bowl of ‘challenges’ for me every day.

In the beginning, these challenges, literally sucked the life out of me. I became someone even I didn’t recognize anymore. I hit some lows that made me question: “Why have I been given these challenges?”

I did a lot of soul-searching during those low times. “Why me?”, crossed my mind constantly. Looking into the eyes of my boys was the spark I needed to refocus. Their unconditional faith in me opened the door to my heart. A glimmer of hope would flicker within me and my ‘down cast spell’ would shatter. My boys fate motivated me to face up to the challenges that life had handed to me.

I am all the better for them.

Understanding the benefits of engaging in challenges led me to sign up for Carla’s @ My 1/2 Dozen Daily’s February Decluttering Challenge.

I really enjoyed participating. It was an unexpected surprise! I discovered an added element of fun I had never experienced before in my challenges. Just knowing that others were participating and dealing with challenges of their own…made me feel like I was not alone in my perseverance.

I felt a sense of solidarity joining this group of ladies. They inspired me and created a sense of accountability.

On that note, I have decided to sign up for Carla’s @ My 1/2 Dozen Daily’s March Challenge Take 3…a financial, personal and decluttering challenge.

Here is how I will break them down:

Financial

-I have $60 worth of PC points that I will use on my next big grocery shop.
-I will not be re-subscribing to a magazine to cut back on my surplus of magazines and to save some money.
-I will collect all my coupons and have a coupon spending day.
-I will strive to have one day out of the week (more if I can) as a No Spend Day.
-I will note all the specials of the week and buy only what we need for the week’s meals.

Update: I actually had $70 worth of PC points that I used on today’s groceries. I also had $5.75 worth of coupon savings. This just made my day! Even the cashier cracked a smile when I explained to her that it was ‘coupon day’ for me and I was so enuthusiastic with my savings! Amazing how the smallest things can give biggest pleasure!

Personal

-I will start my training program for my first 1/2 Marathon Run on May 27, 2012. (details to follow on Wednesday’s post)
-I will be organizing a family trip away for 5 days. This will involve the planning and prepping of allergen friendly food to bring and purchase for the trip.(details to follow on Friday’s post)
-I will look into making arrangements for our family to eat out in a restaurant while on our family vacation.

Decluttering

-I will continue with Carla’s @ My 1/2 Dozen Daily’s February Decluttering Challenge: I have the bedroom furniture ‘switcheroo’ to complete and I have to complete organizing and filing recipes for my blog.

Setting challenges and accomplishing them gives me such a feeling of confidence. Over the years, I have attempted many mini challenges: cleaning out a kitchen drawer, a coupon only shop, and my favourite…taking time out for myself and going for a walk.

Basic stuff really, however, fulfilling mini challenges has given me that extra boost of confidence I so desperately need to get me through the low times.

I know, starting a challenge is a challenge in itself…but it’s those challenges that have made all the world of difference in my life!

Think about it…life would be pretty boring if there was nothing to strive for. Setting goals and reaching one’s full potential takes initiative, determination and willpower…it builds confidence in our abilities.

In a world where food allergies, eczema and asthma leave me feeling helpless…facing challenges has pushed me to take control of my destiny.

Question: Have you felt you have benefited from the challenges that life has presented to you?

9 thoughts on “March Challenge: My Food Allergy Life Has An Extra Bowl Of ‘Challenges’

  1. We also have been dealt the hand of food allergies. At first I had a woe is me attitude for a while but then I quickly realized while it is a pain in the butt, i can deal with it. Its not like my daughter has cancer or a terminal illness so I thank God for that everyday to put things in perspective.

    • Hi Lindsay! Before I had children, I was a Special Education Intervenor…I worked one on one with a deaf-blind child in a school for the physically challenged. The children attending this school faced challenges daily and would for the rest of their lives. I went back to work after my first born was 6 months. It wasn’t until I went back to work that I was able to put into perspective my own challenges at home. I loved my job! I learned how resilient children can be given circumstances beyond their control. My work experience has always centered around children…coincidentally, children with ‘special needs’…how fitting that I should have the priviledge to be raising two ‘special needs boys’ of my own and share our journey with you! Thank you for sharing!

  2. Yes Susan, I do feel that I have benefitted from the biggest challenge life has thrown at me yet – my son’s severe multiple food allergies. Despite a lot of academic credentials – I struggled with finding a passion and purpose to life. With this challenge, it was as if the light bulb suddenly came on. Now, I get it when people say that ‘if you enjoy ehat you do, it wont seem like work’!
    Loved this post – I am feeling so motivated by your half-marathon objective.

    • My father always enjoyed his job and never felt like it was work…I know he wanted the same for myself and my brother. I think I have found it! I truly love being able to share our journey with others and educate the public on life with food allergies eczema and asthma. I will be covering my journey to a 1/2 Marathon on Wednesday’s post…have I mentioned I have asthma!

      • No – I did not know about your asthma. Also, did not know about your prior work experience – am so, totally in awe of that. Wishing you the best with the marathon.
        The biggest gift I have got through this journey is the gift of ‘empathy’. It is easy to become arrogant and have a superior attitude if one hasnt survived immense challenges.

  3. You’ve done so well, Susan! I love your new challenges and am betting that you’ll knock ‘em out of the ballpark!! :) $75 worth of free groceries is awesome!! That would make my day too! Good luck this month!

  4. Pingback: My March Challenge Update: Sale Finds, Bedroom Switcheroo, Organizing and 1/2 Marathon Training | The Food Allergy Chronicles

Shall we discuss?

