Participating in the 5 km Walk to Axe Anaphylaxis, 2011

Wow! What a great day the family and I had participating in the 5 km Walk to Axe Anaphylaxis on October 16, 2011. I met so many interesting people and families just like us!welcome sign for oct 16,2011 walk to axe anaphylaxis

Before we set off, I put together some safe snacks that we enjoyed on the ride home. Hot chocolate in thermos’ for the boys (Michael’s was made with Natura Original Soy Beverage), my Dairy, Sesame and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Granola Bars, Dairy Free Rice Krispie Squares, a couple of apples and bananas and a couple tetra boxes of Natura Chocolate Soy Beverage. (my favourite!)

safe snacks for after our walk to axe anaphylaxis oct 16 2011

A pit stop at Starbuck’s for my Soy Latte and were off!

my soy latte from starbucks for the ride to the walk to axe anaphylaxis

Registration was at 10:30 a.m. with the walk starting at 11:00 a.m. Not knowing how long it would take us to get from Whitby to Cedarvale Park, we arrived a bit too early…..10:00 a.m.

At 10:15 a.m., we headed for the park and the registration table.

my boys and I at entrance for walk to axe anaphylaxis, oct 16,2011 All participants in the Walk to Axe Anaphylaxis received a loot bag. Inside were a stainless steel thermos, a fleece hat with the epi pen.ca logo, a sample of Sunbutter with a coupon and a bag with their logo, a coupon from Allan’s Candy, a cookie from Sweets from the Earth and Two Moms Baked Goods, a coupon for a Life Choices product (the Toronto Star did a feature article on Life Choices on October 11, 2011) and a copy of a picture Sabrina Shannon (Sabrina’s Law) drew and coloured, May 29, 1990.

Michael and I at walk to axe anaphylaxis oct 16,2011

I love hats!

While waiting for the walk to start, I was thrilled to introduce myself to Sara Shannon, mother of Sabrina Shannon.(actually I was very nervous and star struck) I am so thankful for the accomplishments she has made to the allergy community. She has made many strides advocating for the safety of our food allergic children in their schools in Canada and the United States. (Sabrina’s Law)  

It was an honour to have been able to speak with her.

Pictured below: myself and Sara Shannon.

myself and sara shannon, mother of sabrina shannon at walk to axe anaphylaxis oct 16 2011

While checking out the table of refreshments provided for all participants, I started chatting with a mother of two children with food allergies. Through our conversation, I discovered that her brother was founder of AllerDine: an online guide to restaurants to aid those with food allergies. She introduced me to him and we had a great chat about living with food allergies.So refreshing to speak to families that ‘get it’. I relayed my goal of trying to ‘step out of our box’ and try some restaurants. I think I will have to check out AllerDine’s website.

Allergic Living Magazine (love this magazine, been a subscriber from the very beginning) was also there, as well as Life Choices and Kozi Epi. My boys have used their Kozi Epi pen holders for a few years now. Michael’s even holds his puffer as well.

allergic living magazine's table at the walk to axe anaphylaxis oct 16 2011

Both Sara Shannon and Sophie Nisker, founder of The Walk to Axe Anaphylaxis, spoke to the crowd of walkers before our 5 km walk. Each sharing their stories.

Pictured below: myself and Sophie Nisker .

myself and sophie nisker(founder) at the walk to axe ananphylaxis oct 16 2011

I am in awe of both of them.

Both fulfilling their dreams of creating a safer world for those living with food allergies to live in with the hope of one day finding a cure through funding research.

I felt proud to be apart of something so important.

I am excited to be able to write about my experience in the hope that the positive feeling from my day will pass through to you all!

sign of thanks on walk to axe anaphylaxis, oct 16 2011

Have you been to charity events where you walk away feeling exhilarated from the experience? I would love to hear about it. Please leave a comment.

ALWAYS CHECK THE INGREDIENT LIST!

P.S. As always, any products or events I mention in these posts are my own personal recommendations. No one’s paying me to recommend them. They’re just what has worked for our family. Your own needs and preferences may be different!

2 thoughts on “Participating in the 5 km Walk to Axe Anaphylaxis, 2011

Shall we discuss?

