Book Review: allergic girl by Sloane Miller

I recently finished reading “allergic girl, adventures in living well with food allergies by Sloane Miller.  I highly recommend this book to all those living with food allergies. (including family and friends)

allergic girl by sloane miller book

Sloane Miller was diagnosed as a child with allergies to tree nuts, salmon, eggplant, and melon (cantaloupe and honeydew).

In August 2006, Sloane Miller started a blog called Please Don’t Pass the Nuts. She has been a licensed social worker since 2000 and opened a private food-allergy coaching, consulting, and advocacy practice in 2007. In 2008, she started a membership-based food-allergy dining club called Worry-Free Dinners.

Sloane Miller’s goal: “to assist the food-allergic community members to live their best lives.”

Wow….she is my hero!

Sloane Miller is living the life that all those with food allergies strive to achieve…..living with the ” tools to be in and of the world with a little more trust, a little more faith, and a whole lot more fun.”

In her book, allergic girl, she covers strategies, from her real life experiences, on dining out and travelling. She wants those with food allergies to start trusting again and working towards stepping out of their boxes.

Her journey with multiple food allergies is inspiring to say the least. I find myself constantly referring to her.  “Allergic girl did this…” or “Allergic girl tried this…” or “Allergic girl says…”

After reading allergic girl, I feel confident that I can start to take baby steps to incorporate her strategies into my family’s life to broaden our life experiences.

I want to take them out to Calgary to encounter the mountains, Scotland to visit all our relatives (my dad was the only one in his family to immigrate), and England (to walk among my mother’s ancestry).

I want them to enjoy the experience of dining out. (I don’t mean at fast food joints) The pleasure of dining in a nice restaurant.

Alas, food allergies have defined our world.  It is time to free ourselves.  Live a balanced life. allergic girl is a beacon of hope for all those with food allergies willing to give ‘living’ a chance.

So get out your highlighters!  You will need it as you read through allergic girl.  There are so many tips and information that you will want to refer back to in your new journey in life.

Enjoy!  Like a good meal, so is a great book!

P.S. Allergic Living’s Spring 2011 magazine also did a review on Sloane Miller’s allergic girl. The cover article titled ‘Yes! You Can Dine Out’ was written by Sloane Miller.

P.S. Next book: Don’t Kill the Birthday Girl by Sandra Beasley

Don't Kill The Birthday Girl by Sandra Beasley book

Have you read either allergic girl or Don’t Kill the Birthday Girl?  I’d love to hear what you thought of them.  Please share in the comments.

Have you a book worth sharing? Please share in the comments.

5 thoughts on “Book Review: allergic girl by Sloane Miller

  1. Pingback: Suffocating with Multiple Food Allergies and Atopic Dermatitis: Catching My Breathe in Scotland | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  2. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on “Allergic Girl”. I purchased the book soon after I read your review, and I found the book to be very helpful. I love Sloan’s attitude towards being a “foodie” and the joys of foods that CAN be a part of your life. We are dealing with a larger list of food allergens (peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, fish, sesame, sunflower, poppy, mustard, green peas and many fresh fruits) so dining out would still be a bigger challenge, but she gave me the courage to consider this in the future. In the meantime, we enjoy experimenting with foods in the safety of our home. Our son is a HUGE foodie, and is quite interested in food preparation, so we’re lucky as he will need to prepare his own food as he gets older. Again, thanks for the review!

    • Hi Julie- Sloane Miller’s positive attitude towards living life to the fullest despite her food allergies is contagious! I too felt like calling up and running out to the nearest restaurant after reading her book! Alas…that hasn’t happened yet…but that doesn’t mean that it won’t. I am still inspired to tackle restaurants. I have a feeling my boys’ hockey teams will be doing some tournaments this holiday season…this means ‘eating out’! I am wrapping my head around it early to prepare myself…I see a blog coming out of this…stay tuned! I hope to write my second book review on ‘Don’t Kill the Birthday Girl’ by Sandra Beasley. I have finished the book…I just need to write it. Thanks again for your support and comments! ~ Susan H.

  3. Pingback: Day 4 in a Series on Cross-Contamination: A Weekend Away Visiting Family | The Food Allergy Chronicles

  4. Pingback: More Inspiring Food Allergy, Eczema and Asthma Bloggers | The Food Allergy Chronicles

Shall we discuss?

