It all started with a visit to the allergist…

It is fitting that I am starting my blog shortly after my eldest son’s fifteenth birthday! It has been quite a journey! Like being on a roller coaster ride….many highs and lows and sighs of relief! But the ride is not over! Thank goodness! Living with food allergies is a ride that never ends. My journey is taking another turn… I want to share my stories and recipes!

ALL ABOUT THE PANCAKES
On April 24, 1997, my husband took Michael to his first allergist. He was given a list of foods that Michael was not to eat: milk, soya, wheat, potatoes, eggs, tomatoes and seafood. He was switched from a soya formula to Alimentum. It was at this time, that I felt
I “wasn’t in Kansas anymore!”

From this day forward, our lives changed. All that I knew about food was tossed out the window! My world changed over night! What do I feed my son?

On another visit to this allergist, when I inquired as to what to feed my son as food groups had been eliminated, the response was, “deal with it.” Are you kidding me?! That was the last time we saw that particular allergist. We are now on our third and quite happy!

Regardless of their allergies, I want my kids to enjoy foods that all kids enjoy. So I needed a wheat-free, egg-free, dairy-free pancake.

Oatmeal pancakes came about after many frustrating recipe failures using rice flour. I ground my own oat flour from whole oats. It’s easier than you think! I just whir 2 cups of whole oats around in the food processor until they’re a grainy powder, like you see in this picture.

oats processed in a food processor into oat flour

A TIP ABOUT BUYING DRY GOODS: The bulk bins can be tempting, filled as they are with oats of every kind… and much cheaper than their packaged alternatives. But I never buy bulk. Ever! If the only way to purchase a food product was to buy it in bulk, I would pass. I can’t control what goes into those bins, or what they come in contact with i.e. one of my sons’ allergens. A risk we are not willing to take. Buyer beware!

DAIRY AND EGG FREE OATMEAL PANCAKES
This recipe is adapted from Better Homes and Gardens NEW COOK BOOK. (Little did I know how handy this cook book would be when I gave it to my husband when he first moved out of his parents’ home!)

1 1/4 to 1 1/2 cups oat flour
1 tbsp granulated sugar
2 tsp baking powder
¼ tsp kosher salt
½ tsp baking soda
2 tbsp water
2 tbsp canola oil
1 cup rice/soya milk

In a mixing bowl, mix together the dry ingredients. In a liquid measuring cup, mix all the wet ingredients. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and stir until just blended.  Mixture can still be lumpy.

oat flour batter

Let the batter sit a bit to thicken. The longer it sits the thicker it will become. If it gets too thick just add a bit more rice/soy milk to thin it out.

Spoon approximately a ¼ cup of batter onto a hot griddle or non-stick fry pan. Cook until underside is brown and bubbles appear on the top side. Turn to brown.

oat flour pancakes with blueberries on top cooking

(My boys love blueberries so I sprinkle those on top before flipping the pancakes.)

Enjoy hot with pure maple syrup or cold with jam. Pancakes can be frozen between wax paper for another time.

DAIRY AND EGG FREE WHEAT FLOUR PANCAKES
I am not 100% sure at what point we introduced wheat back into Michael’s diet. Those early years are a bit muddled in my head. Not only were we dealing with multiple food allergies, but Michael also suffered from atopic dermatitis. I was very sleep deprived as Michael would be up every night itching and uncomfortable. I felt like a ‘mad scientist’ figuring out what was causing his skin to be so inflamed. I know I felt relieved when I didn’t have to grind the oats and started using flour. It was one less step. I regret it only now as he prefers the white flour pancake to the healthier oat one! Still dairy and egg free, this recipe is adapted from the Better Homes and Gardens NEW COOK BOOK.

1 cup all purpose unbleached flour
1 tbsp granulated sugar
2 tsp baking powder
¼ tsp kosher salt
½ tsp baking soda
2 tbsp water
2 tbsp canola oil
1 cup rice/soya milk

In a mixing bowl, mix together the dry ingredients. In a liquid measuring cup, measure all the wet ingredients. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and stir until just blended. Mixture can still be lumpy.

Spoon approximately ¼ cup of the batter onto a hot griddle or non-stick fry pan. Cook until underside is brown and bubbles appear on top side. Turn to brown.

Enjoy hot with pure maple syrup or cold with jam. Pancakes can be frozen between wax paper for another time. They’re great reheated the next day.

When travelling to friends and family, I always mix up a few packages of the dry ingredients in small ziploc bags or small plastic containers to take along with me. I bring along my rice/soya milk, and a small plastic container of canola oil. It is then easy to whip up a batch of homemade pancakes for everyone to share. Believe me, no one will know the difference! In fact some of my friends’ kids prefer my egg and dairy free pancakes to “regular” ones.

Always CHECK INGREDIENTS before you purchase products.

PS. Any products mentioned in this post are my own personal recommendation. No one’s paying me to include the links! I’m just sharing what works for our family. Your needs and preferences may be different.

5 thoughts on “It all started with a visit to the allergist…

  1. Congratulations Susan on finally sharing your story with the world! You are bound to be the Julia Child/Martha Stewart of cooking with allergies. My children prefer these pancakes over the “traditional” ones. And I know many more will too.

    xo – Suzanne

  2. What a smile it brought to my face to see you finally started this! you are going to help so many struggling parents out there find their way. So proud….can’t wait to start reading!

  3. Hello! I also have two children who suffer from allergies (one with tree nuts and cherries, the other with tree nuts only). You don’t mention it but is the allergic reaction your son’s experience limited to dermatological or does it include anaphylaxis as well? Thank you.

    • Hi Marie-Good point! Michael’s reactions have included, tingling in the mouth, vomiting, swelling of the tongue and lips, itchy skin, hives, skin rashes and his eyes have swelled shut. Matthew’s reaction occured during the night. He woke up with a swollen face and mouth. Have your children experienced an anaphylactic reaction to their allergens?~Susan H.

  4. Pingback: Dairy, Egg and Peanut/Tree Nut Free ‘Oreo’ Style Cookies | The Food Allergy Chronicles

Shall we discuss?

